Content Areas create the core structure and layout of your website's content. You can drag-and-drop Elements into Content Areas to add content, such as Text and Images.
In This Article:
Standard Content Areas
A standard Content Area is indicated by a notebook icon. These areas are unique to the page you are on and will not appear on other pages.
Global Content Areas
A Global Area is indicated by a bullseye icon. Content added to these areas will appear on every page the Content Area exists on. For example, Content Areas in the Header and Footer section are often Global Areas
Some Content Areas are wrapped around a larger Region and typically have the name Section in them. If you set a background color or image to a Region, it will appear behind all Content Areas within that Region.
For example, Section1 in the image below is a Region containing the following Content Areas: PageHeader, ContentLeft, ContentRight, and ContentMid. The background image set in Section1 spans behind all these Content Areas.
Content Area Properties
You can set individual properties to content areas, such as a background color or image, by clicking on the blue edit icon.
To learn more, please see the below guide:
- Adding a background color
- Adding a background image
- Content Area Properties overview
- Content Area Device Settings
Locking Content Areas
The orange lock symbol will allow you to lock content areas to prevent other admins from editing the area. To learn more about our role-based permission system, please Click Here. Note: If you see the orange lock symbol, it means you can still edit the content area!
1) Can I add, move, or delete Content Areas?
Content Areas are part of the HTML coding of your website's Design Template and there is not currently an option to add, move, or delete Content Areas in Edit Mode. If you need additional Content Areas added to your website, please Book a Design Appointment
2) What happens if I leave a Content Area blank?
If no content or properties are set within a Content Area, it will not appear to visitors outside of Edit Mode.